FULL COUNCIL

17 JANUARY 2024

Present: Councillors O'Callaghan (Mayor), Bishop (Deputy Mayor), Bacon, Barnett, Batsford, Beaney, Beaver, Cannan, Carr, Collins, Cooke, Edwards, Evans, Fernando, Foster, Haffenden, Hay, Hilton, Jobson, Marlow-Eastwood, Patmore, Pragnell, Roark, Sinden, Turner, Webb, and Williams.

In attendance: Jane Hartnell (Chief Executive), and Mary Kilner (Chief Legal Officer).

40. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence received from Councillors Arthur, Rankin, Roberts, Rogers, and Willis

41. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

None received.

42. <u>MOTION OF NO CONFIDENCE IN THE LEADER OF THE COUNCIL,</u> <u>DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL AND CABINET</u>

The Chief Legal Officer informed the meeting that the Leader of the Council, Deputy Leader of the Council, and the remaining Cabinet members had submitted written resignations prior to the meeting.

Councillor Bishop withdrew the motion of no confidence and the meeting proceeded to the next item of business.

43. ELECTION OF LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

The Mayor called for nominations for Leader of the Council.

Councillor Collins proposed that Councillor Hilton be elected Leader of the Council, seconded by Councillor Sinden.

There were no further nominations.

<u>RESOLVED</u> (by 11 votes for, to 2 against, with 14 abstentions) that Councillor Hilton be elected Leader of the Council until the Annual Council meeting in May 2024.

(The Mayor declared the meeting closed at 6.07pm)